Recent Posts

Jeremy Kalin announces for Minnesota Secretary of State

by The Big E on July 9, 2013 · 1 comment

jeremy_kalinFormer DFL legislator Jeremy Kalin announced today that he will seek the DFL endorsement for Minnesota Secretary of State. Current SoS Mark Ritchie announced that he will not seek reelection in 2014. Kalin represented Pine City and the Chisago Lakes region northeast of the Twin Cities.
Kalin faces Rep. Debra Hilstrom (DFL-Brooklyn Center) and Hennepin County Elections Manager Rachel Bohman for the DFL endorsement. Sen. Roger Reinert (DFL-Duluth) announced he was not running on his Facebook page earlier today.

Kalin said he’s running because he is passionate about democracy and making it work for everybody in Minnesota. He also said his legislative experience makes him well qualified for the job.
“The military voting bill I chief authored is evidence of my core belief that every Minnesotan has the right to vote and have that vote counted,” Kalin said.
Kalin said he will seek the DFL party endorsement and will drop out if he does not get it.

I confirmed today that another possible candidate, Rep. Steve Simon (DFL-St. Louis Park), is still “actively considering” joining the race.

Kalin and Simon would be appealing to and fundraising from the same group of people so it’s to Kalin’s advantage that Simon doesn’t join the race.
Here’s the potential candidates on TPT:

Here’s Reinert’s announcement on his Facebook page:
photo (4)

Eric Ferguson July 10, 2013 at 1:40 am

We have multiple strong candidates. Good problem to have. If Republicans can’t make a serious go at Franken or Dayton, they presumably would put a lot of effort into this only seat without a DFL incumbent. If next year isn’t any sort of wave election, odds are incumbency lets Rebecca Otto and Lori Swanson win, which means Republicans go hard after SOS — which means we have to too, especially since we’ve seen what harm a partisan secretary of state can do — that’s how the Bush Administration came to be. Imagine if Mary Kiffmeyer was still there during the 2008 recount.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: